Explore Dauphin County Heritage

Dauphin County History

Dauphin County is one of six counties formed out of Lancaster County. The land that made up the original Lancaster County (then part of one of Pennsylvania's original three counties) was part of the tract of land originally deeded to William Penn in 1689. In 1729, Lancaster County became the fourth county formed in Pennsylvania. Read More

Historic Markers

The Historical Marker program administered by the PA Historical and Museum Commission is responsible for over 2,000 blue and gold markers that dot the landscape describing people, places, events, and inventions important to the state’s history. Public marker nominations are reviewed and approved by the PHMC. New markers are dedicated in public ceremonies. Read More

Register Sites

In an effort to identify, protect, and maintain the country’s historic buildings and archaeological sites, the federal government established the National Register of Historic Places in 1966. Outlined in the National Historic Preservation Act, the program is administered by the National Park Service in conjunction with state historic preservation offices. Read More


History & Heritage Events